$6.50 Mac n’ Cheese at Lucy’s Eastside Diner

Hi,

Lucy's Eastside Diner!

Stephanie here,

So one of my favourite show is called Diner’s Drive-ins and Dives! Ever since I’ve been watching that show, I’ve had a craving to visit a real American diner in the States. Too bad, I live in Canada. I love America. LOL. Well, in Canada (or at least Vancouver) , there are not that many options for diners so I was pretty excited when my friends and I decided to share some eats at Lucy’s Eastside Diner.  I’d been here once before, but it was before I started blogging. So now was my chance!

Lucy’s Eastside Diner is quite small (don’t come in more than groups of 4) and it is very retro-like.  Settling down, my friends and decided to share the Mac n Cheese, Cinnamon French Toast, Poutine and the Strawberry Milkshake.  The prices are quite reasonable (ranging from about $6-$12), but the portions are on the smaller

Cinnamon French Toast

side.

Out of all the dishes, the mac n cheese was the best. It was creamy and very cheesy. The french toast was pretty good as well. It came with mixed berries and syrup, but it was very simple. I think I could’ve made it at home, but there was nothing wrong with it. The poutine,on the other hand, was not very good.  I knew they used their regular fries (shoe-string fries) but it did not work at all in the dish. It was way too thin and the cheesecurds weren’t right either. It was cut up very small

Strawberry milkshake!

and didn’t really melt at all. It was quite hard actually. The gravy was OK.  The last thing that we had, was the strawberry milkshake. I forget how much it is, but I thought it was a good deal! Around 6 bucks I think for a large glass and a refill tin. Overall, the food was just average – I wouldn’t even consider it an authentic diner. Though the inside is nice and retro-like it also lacks that homey diner feel.  Oh well, I guess I have to go to the states for that!

PSST: This place is also open 24 hours!
Lucy's Eastside Diner on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

