$8.50 Nabeyaki Udon at Tomoya Japanese Restaurant

Hi Stephanie here,

Admiral Roll

Back in June, I visited Tomoya Japanese Restaurantwith a couple of friends. It was during the Stanley Cup Playoffs, and we were watching Game 3 or 4 of the final round. The Canucks were losing pretty badly so we decided to leave early and head out to eat at Tomoya Japanese Restaurant. Located next to Lao Shan Dong, Tomoya calls itself a fusion French-Japanese restaurant. Though it was a fusion restaurant, it seemed more of a Japanese restaurant than anything, but I didn’t really care.

Nabeyaki Udon

I’d been here a couple times, and I really liked it. I’m not sure if the chefs here are Japanese but the dishes seemed pretty authentic. To start off, we ordered an admiral roll. This is one of my favourite rolls; it’s cooked salmon on the inside, topped with deep-fried soft shell crab, drizzled with a spicy sauce.  How can you go wrong with deep-fried soft shell crab? The roll is very good, but I wish that they had drizzled more of the sauce on the inside of the roll because it was a bit dry.

Chirashi Don

For myself I ordered the Nabeyaki Udon. It was an udon chock full of vegetables, prawn tempura, mushrooms and fish cake(?). The broth was pretty good. Nothing outstanding. The broth was flavourful and had depth. This dish was very large and substantial. I could barely finish it. For $8.50, I think this is a very good deal.

My other friend ordered the Chicken Udon. I didn’t try hers, but I assumed it was good because she finished the whole thing.

And my other friend ordered the Chirashi Don. It’s basically a dish of various sliced sashimi on top of sushi rice. I’ve actually never tried this dish before, but my friend was it was quite good and quite fresh.

The bill

As you can see from the pictures, the presentation of the food is quite beautiful. Not only that, but the quality of the food is solid, and the portions are more than enough for a meal. All in all, I give Tomoya a thumbs up.

PSST: Oh, Apparently we got the admiral roll for half-price. (Regularly $9.25) but we didn’t know this until we got our bill. Supposedly this was a promotional discount. Not sure if you can get this discount right now, but it was a nice plus at the end of our meal.

Tomoya Japanese Restaurant 友居酒屋 on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “$8.50 Nabeyaki Udon at Tomoya Japanese Restaurant”

  1. I like how the receipt says “Hot Rod Prime Rib” on the top, haha. I like this restaurant; some creative rolls and great alternative to Sushi Town nearby.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

