$6.00-$8.00 Late Night Mini Meals + Drink (Honolulu Cafe)

Hi Everyone,

Stephanie here.

After Souljourners Fellowship (my church fellowship!)  ends on Fridays, most of us are pretty hungry (since some of us don’t eat dinner before) so we always head out to a cheap place to eat. Most of us are poorstarvingstudents. Yay us. Usually we head out to 54th Cafe or Honolulu Cafe. This time we headed out to Honolulu Cafe on Kingsway & Joyce.

I would have to say that my favorite go-to places to eat that are open late are HK Style Cafes (Hong Kong Style Cafes). For those of you who don’t know what HK Style Cafes are, well basically they are restaurants that specialize in Chinese-style Western style dishes.  Most items are usually baked, or fried. Some usual eclectic offerings include Baked Pork Chop on Rice, Club Sandwich with Fries, Chicken Steak on Rice, Wonton Noodles, Baked Seafood on Rice, Baked Portuguese Chicken w/ Curry on Rice, to name a few.

Like most HK Cafes, Honolulu Cafe is pretty cheap. For under $10, you can get a filling dish and a large HK drink. (If you want it cold, $1 extra) Some drinks include Milk Tea, Horlick (almond-flavoured drink), or

Ying Yang (a mixture of milk tea and coffee). Ying Yang is SO GOOD. I ALWAYS get this. 🙂

We went out to eat quite a long time ago, so I can’t quite remember what was ordered. I ordered Baked Pork Chop on Rice. The portion was quite decent, there was enough pork chop and sauce was nice. A bit greasy though, maybe due to the copious amounts of cheese?

My friend ordered the Malaysian Vermicelli. I think it was the biggest portion of what we all ordered and my friend ate ALL of it.

My other friend also ordered Baked Something on Rice(Maybe it was Minced Meat?). It looked the same as my dish.

And my other friend ordered Cow Tongue (or other beef item) on Rice? I can’t really remember haha.

As for drinks, we ordered Milk Tea, Ying Yang & Horlick. The drinks are pretty huge – I always barely finish my drink, and they drinks at Honolulu are pretty decent. Not too sweet.

For poorstarvingstudents, I would recommend going late at night and in the late afternoon. Yay!
Honolulu Cafe (Kingsway) on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “$6.00-$8.00 Late Night Mini Meals + Drink (Honolulu Cafe)”

  1. horlicks is a malt drink, not an almond-flavoured drink. it’s kind of like ovaltine minus the chocolate flavour.

    i find that honolulu is hit or miss. sometimes i get tummy aches after eating there =[.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

