$7.50 Tawainese Beef Noodle Soup – The One

Hey Everyone.

$4.50 Yam Fries

Stephanie here.

For my dad’s birthday, we went to The One, a Taiwanese bubble tea joint on Kingsway in Burnaby. I was kind of surprised! I thought my dad would prefer a less hip place, but in fact we saw one of our family friends eating with their family in the restaurant.

$5.50 Beef Pancake Rolls

We ordered$4.50 yam fries (yes, I know. Yam fries in a Tawainese  BBT joint? It was my dad’s preference) and $4.50 beef pancake rolls to start. The yams were freshly deep fried & decent, but could’ve used a little more salt. The beef pancake rolls were alright, the pancakes wasn’t as flaky as I would’ve liked.

$9.50 XO Sauce Fried Rice

I ordered the $7.50 TBN (Taiwanese Beef Noodle Soup). This was very good, as expected. Noodles were chewy & fresh (They make their own noodles – The One is operated by the same owners as Lao Shan Dong, who are know for their noodle soups). Broth was superb, and I liked the little sour kick from the sour mustard greens. Portion was very large

$7.50 Taiwanese Beef Noodle Soup

My mom ordered the $6.25 Sour Mustard & Pork Noodle Soup, pretty much tasted the same as the TBN, but less spicy.

Lastly, my dad ordered the$9.50 XO Sauce Fried Rice. This was really good as well! I used to not like XO sauce, but I really like it now!

Overall, I’d say the food is on the cheaper to average side of most BBT joints, and the portions are very generous! Not the cheapest, but enought for a poorstarvingstudent to give a thumbs up, especially for the noodle soups.
The One Restaurant on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “$7.50 Tawainese Beef Noodle Soup – The One”

  1. haha steph 😛

    try the taiwanese sausage fried rice next time! it’s gooood 😛

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

