$8.75 From’ton Baguette at Chez Meme Baguette Bistro

Hi Everyone,

From'ton Baguette

Stephanie here,

This is another post I’m super excited to write about as well!  I’ve been meaning to try out Chez Meme Baguette Bistro for quite some time now. Just like Kedah House, I only heard about this place by reading about it from other food blogs.  All the blogs that I read about Chez Meme Baguette Bistro were singing praises of this neighbourhood French cafe.  Apparently this is also a local favourite as well.  Well, the perfect occasion came when I went with my

Schnitzel Baguette

parents to celebrate my job offer from Ernst & Young.  They asked me where I wanted to go, and I said Chez Meme right away. We arrived there around 11am and I though it wouldn’t be that busy (since it was a weekday and it was before the lunch rush) but it was quite full! We had to wait a bit for a table of three, but the place is very small.  It’s best if you come in a group no more than four.

One thing to note before I get started on the food – the service was quite excellent! The owners are real French and they were quite friendly; they also seemed to know everyone in the cafe.

I wasn’t feeling anything that heavy so I ordered the From’ton, which is a baguette with brie, pear and walnuts. The baguette also came with a choice of fries or soup. I knew my parents were going

Nordique Baguette

to choose the soup, so I chose the fries.  The flavours of the brie, pear and walnut worked well together. The baguette tasted very fresh, but I wish it was a bit more crustier and darker. Maybe that’s the way it;s supposed to be? The fries pretty good! It tasted like they were baked and not deep fried, and they were the skinny type as well. I like it, but I had to add salt.

My dad ordered the Nordique, which consists of smoked salmon, dill, cucumber and cream cheese. I didn’t try it, but my dad said it was really good! My mom ordered the Schnitzel and she said it was good as well. Both my parents ordered to the soup of the day which I think was some sort of tomato based soup. I tried a little bit, and the soup was pretty tasty!

Overall, I recommend checking out Chez Meme Baguette Bistro. The service is excellent, and the food is solid french food.

Chez Meme Baguette Bistro on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

