Archive for November 12th, 2011

November 12, 2011

2011 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Dinner at Vancouver Convention Centre

Hey it’s Stephanie here,

Pretty fancy!

Another EY post! This year, I had the opportunity to attend the 2011 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Awards Ceremony! It was a wonderful event and it was fun to see all of BC’s best entrepreneurs in one place. I think there were over 1300 people at the event! Some famous people too (Rob Feenie, Vikram Vij etc.). Oh,and Sophie Lui from GlobalTV MC’d the event.

I’ve always had a strong interest in entrepreneurship so I was really excited

Salad

when I got invited. In fact, during high school, I was involved in a nationwide competition called Impact Microcredit (a 1-week business competition where students were given $100 in seed money to run a business and raise money for charity). My team ended up in 3rd place, winning $5000 in scholarship money. And also, two of my friends (who will be working at EY with me) are organizing Enterprize, which is Western Canada’s largest student-run entrepreneurship conference.  I’ve been to

Main Course

Enterprize and it’s one of the best conferences at the Sauder School of Business! If you’re interested in entrepreneurship, you should definitely attend this conference!

Anyway, enough plug-ins. Back to the event. It was a black-tie event and was held at the Vancouver Convention Centre. The first course was a Grana Parmesan Frico  and Artisan Lettuce Salad  with Basil Tomato Balsamico Dressing. I loved the parmesan frico. It’s basically shredded

Chocolate Lollipops

parmesan that is baked so it’s really crispy. The salad was pretty good – it was your basic hotel salad. I think I could make the same thing at home though.

The main course was a Roasted Beef Tenderloin with Shiitake Mushrooms and Cream with Harissa and lemon-seared prawn. Accompanying it was Butternut Squash Risotto Cake and Autumn Vegetables. The tenderloin was deelish. It was medium rare, and

Dessert Extravaganza

what else can I say? It’s not hard to mess up a piece of meat if you cook it well.  I’m a big fan of mushrooms so I loved the shiitake mushrooms. The prawn was perfectly cooked as well.  The sauce complemented the meal well – apparently it’s called Harissa.  According to Wikipedia, Harissa is a Tunisian hot chili sauce commonly eaten in North Africa. The risotto cake, was one of my favourites. I think it’s just because I love risotto in general. The autumn vegetables were

More Dessert

tasty too. As you can tell, this was a lot of food. I could barely finish it – but I had to save room for dessert!

Even before the dinner, I was looking forward to the Dessert Extravaganza. And it was heavenly. The selection of desserts were pretty amazing. I had panna cotta, tiramisu, chocolate cake-thing, mango mousse, apple cider w/ sorbet, macarons, and a lot more desserts I can’t quite remember.  My friend and I took one of each dessert, so our plates were pretty full.  We tried to finish it all but we were so full! Out the the all the

Panna Cotta

desserts, I think my favourites were the panna cotta and the apple cider w/ apple sorbet. The panna cotta was so good I actually ate two. I was very creamy and the perfect consistency. For those of you who don’t know, panna cotta is an Italian dessert made up of cream, milk and sugar.  The texture is similar to Chinese mango pudding in a way.  The apple cider sorbet was fantastic! It was really different but it was delicious.  It was just a scoop of apple sorbet in apple cider but it was really creamy and frothy and tasted so good. It was sort of like a grown-up ice cream float haha.

All in all, the experience at EOY was great.  It was my first real black-tie business event (UBC conferences don’t count) and the food was delicious.  I also met a ton more EY people and just

My lovely friends

enjoyed spending time with my friends. It was great just soaking up the atmosphere and feeling like we were more than just students, but actually business professionals.  Who knew that we would all end up working at together?