$13.95 Prime Rib Sandwich at Oswego Grill (US)

Hi Stephanie here,

$9.50 Salt & Pepper Calamari

So in the summer, my family and I went to Portland for some shopping and we stayed in a hotel about 15 minutes from the Burlington Outlets. When you go out of town on a trip, you want to eat at the local restaurants, but sometimes it’s hard to find out which ones are the good ones and which ones are the bad ones.  Sure, you can look at Urbanspoon, but if you’re in a small town I don’t find Urbanspoon as reliable.

You can't really see it here, but the prime rib was HUGE!

There’s usually only one or two votes so it’s hard to get a clear picture if the restaurant is well-liked.

At Lake Oswego (where my family was staying), I didn’t have enough time to do research on places to eat, so we just went down the list of top restaurants in Lake Oswego on Urbanspoon. Oswego Grill was #2 on the list, and I am pleased to say that I quite enjoyed the dining experience at Oswego Grill (for those of you who don’t know, I think it’s pronounced “Oz way go”.

Though Oswego Grill only has two locations, it felt like walking into a chain

$29.95 18oz Steak

restaurant. Not that I don’t like chain restaurants, but I thought it was interesting.  It felt like a White Spot, but a bit more sophisticated.

The prices at Oswego Grill are quite reasonable (around the $15-$20 range). For the amount of food that we got, it was quite the deal.  To start, my family ordered the Salt & Pepper Calamari, $9.50 to share.  The first bite of the calamari that I had was amazing! It was super tender, and the coating was indeed very salty & peppery. It might

$17.95 Flat Iron Steak

be my personal preference, but I preferred a little less seasoning.  It’ was a bit different than the greek calamari that I’m used to – they used slices and chunks of squid instead of having it in rings.

For our mains, I had the Prime Rib Sandwich. I was very impressed by the size of this sandwich! What impressed me the most, was that they actually had a huge slab of prime rib in the sandwich. Most places I’ve experienced only give you slices of prime rib so there’s lots of air in

$16.95 Danish Baby Back Ribs

the sandwich. This was definitely not the case. The prime rib was cooked perfectly to a medium rare. One thing I don’t understand about ordering prime rib is how restaurants prepare it. To cook a rib, you need to roast the whole thing in the oven.  So how do they serve a group of people who only order medium-rare? If you know the answer, please tell me.  Anyway, what else to say? The fries were crunchy, and I like dipping it into the au jus. Not much to say, except the Prime Rib Sandwich was delicious and a fantastic deal.

my brother had the Bone-In Rib Eye, $29.95. This thing was massive!! It was

Loved this place!

18 oz, and it took up the entire plate. I tried a bit of my brother’s rib eye, and the meat was quite tender and perfectly cooked to a medium rare.

My mom had one of their dinner features, their Flat Iron Steak, $17.95. This was a beautifully presented dish, and again, the steak was cooked perfectly to medium-rare (my family likes medium-rare if you haven’t noticed)

My dad ordered the Half Rack Danish Baby Back Ribs. This was very good as well. I forget what this tasted like, but I knew my dad enjoyed it because he ate every bit of it!

Overall, our experience at Oswego Grill was a wonderful one. If we ever go back to Burlington Outlets, we will definitely come back to this place. Oh, and did I mention the service? Our server was extremely friendly and provided excellent service. Go check this place out!

Oswego Grill on Urbanspoon

One Comment to “$13.95 Prime Rib Sandwich at Oswego Grill (US)”

  1. Yum! I’ll remember this if I ever go to Portland :).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

